English Literature Professor Rosemarie Hoey is a lifelong learner and believer in the transformative power of higher education. She is also a proud member of the Carleton community. Two of her five earned degrees are from Carleton (BA in 1970 and MA in 1971) and she began teaching part-time at Carleton in the early 1990s. And Hoey’s family is now on its third generation of Carleton graduates! Although she officially retired in 2018, Rosemarie is still in touch with many students and colleagues. She says her collection of great Carleton memories is too large to pick just one favourite, but that all the times she spent interacting with students are the memories closest to her heart.

Dr. Hoey believes scholarships and bursaries not only lend financial support to students but also help students build their confidence. She created the Rosemarie A. Hoey Award in English to support students in her area of study. Thank you, Rosemarie, for being such an integral part of the Carleton community!

The Rosemarie A. Hoey Award in English is given at the discretion of the Chair to a student(s) in first- and second-year courses who in the professional opinions of their instructor(s), have demonstrated consistent growth in oral and written work for that course and who intend to pursue an English major, minor, and/or a Departmental concentration. Established in 1995 by Dr. Rosemarie A. Hoey and endowed in 2005.