Awarded annually by the Dean of Graduate and Postdoctoral Affairs, in memory of Robert McKeown’s career as a journalist of national stature, when merited, to a student in the doctoral program in Communication who has a background as a working journalist or whose research focuses on the news media or journalism practice. Recipients are selected by the Supervisor of Graduate Studies in Communication on the recommendation of the Graduate Committee in Communication. Eligible students must be Canadian Citizens or permanent residents of Canada (landed immigrant or a protected person), meet OSAP’s Ontario Residency Requirements. The criteria for the award are academic merit and financial need. Endowed in 2005 by Lloyd Francis.