Awarded annually to students entering a program at Carleton University from a high school in Canada. Established in 1990 by Pauline Jewett, a faculty member at Carleton from 1955 to 1972 and Director of the Institute of Canadian Studies. She was a member of Parliament for two-an a-half years in the mid-sixties and from 1979 to 1988. Dr. Jewett was Chancellor of Carleton University from 1990 to 1992.