Awarded annually to part-time and full-time students who have demonstrated a commitment to furthering their education and who are in financial need. Preference will be given to Canadian Aboriginal and Inuit students enrolled with the Centre for Initiatives Education Enriched Support Program, and Canadian Aboriginal and Inuit students in other programs of study at Carleton University. Recipients will demonstrate financial need, must be Canadian Citizens, and must meet OSAP’s Ontario Residency requirements. Endowed in 1997 by Mrs. Joy Maclaren, who was given the name “New Sun” at an Aboriginal Peoples’ naming ceremony. Mrs. Maclaren, a former member of the University’s Board of Governors, established the award in recognition of Carleton’s role in providing accessible education. Amended 2007.