Awarded annually by the Dean of Graduate and Postdoctoral Affairs on the recommendation of the Dean of the Faculty of Science to outstanding graduate students entering or continuing in a degree program within the Departments of Physics, Chemistry, Neuroscience or the School of Mathematics and Statistics. Preference will be for students who demonstrate analysis, applied creativity and perseverance. Endowed in 2020 by Miloslav Kalab.