Awarded annually by the Dean of Graduate and Postdoctoral Affairs, on the recommendation of the Chair of the Department of Neuroscience to an outstanding graduate student enrolled in a degree program within the Department of Neuroscience. Preference will be given to a student who is conducting graduate research in the area of mental health problems. Endowed in 2017 by the Mach-Gaensslen Foundation.