Awarded annually by the Dean of Graduate and Postdoctoral Affairs on the recommendation of the Director of the Institute for Biochemistry to an outstanding graduate student entering or proceeding from one year to another in a Masters or PhD program in Biochemistry. Endowed in 2019 by Dr. Joyce L. Beare-Rogers.