Awarded annually by the Dean of Graduate and Postdoctoral Affairs to deserving students entering or proceeding from one year to another in a graduate program within the English Department. Preference will be given to students studying Canadian literature, poetics, or language. Recipients will demonstrate financial need, must be Canadian Citizens or permanent residents of Canada (landed immigrants or protected persons), and must also meet OSAP’s Ontario residency requirements. Endowed in 2010 by James and Heather Steele. (James was a member of the Carleton’s English Department,1964-1999, and Chair, 1975-78; Heather was for many years Director of the Fellowships Programme at the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council.)