Two fellowships were established in 1985 by friends of India to honour the memory of Mrs. Indira Gandhi, Prime Minister of India, 1966-1977 and 1980-1984. Awarded annually to two outstanding (preferably Visa) students enrolled in graduate programs. No application is required for these fellowships. The recipients will be chosen by an awards committee chaired by the Dean of the Faculty of Graduate Studies and Research from candidates recommended by departments, schools, and institutes having graduate programs.