Awarded annually, on the recommendation of the Director of Mathematics and Statistics, to outstanding students entering or proceeding from one year to another who have demonstrated excellence in the study of Mathematics. Endowed in 2001 by friends, academic colleagues, and the estate of Helga H. Schirmer, an outstanding topologist who was a member of the Department of Mathematics and Statistics for many years. Revised 2006.