Awarded annually by the Dean of Graduate Studies and Research on the recommendation of the Director of the School of Public Policy and Administration (SPPA). Preference will be given to students who are pursuing research in Civil Society, and whose work may enhance program or process innovation and capacity building in the not for profit sector. Eligible recipients will be involved with a project in the not for profit sector through the Carleton Centre for Community Innovation at Carleton University.Endowed in 2009 by Ann and Stephen Lieff to further Carleton’s SPPA as a Canadian Centre for Excellence in the development of thought leaders, educators, and professionals in the not for profit sector.