Awarded annually by the Dean of Graduate and Postdoctoral Affairs on the recommendation of the Director or Associate Director of the School of Journalism and Communication to outstanding graduate students entering or continuing in a Journalism degree. Preference will be given to recipients who exhibit leadership that furthers social goals of civil society in Canada and beyond. Endowed in 2023 by Gaia Power Inc. for its founder, Samit Sharma. This scholarship was established in honour and appreciation of Canada’s rule based civil society that requires its five pillars of Judiciary, Legislature, Executive, Public service and Journalism, not to serve any party or person but the country, its residents and its democratic institutions.