Two scholarships are awarded annually, by the Dean of Graduate Studies and Research, on the recommendation of the Chair of the Department of Chemistry, to graduate students entering or proceeding and specializing in inorganic or materials chemistry. Endowed in 1999 by the founder of Fluorosense Inc, a company that specialized in custom instrumentation.