Awarded annually, on the recommendation of the Director of the Institute of European, Russian and Eurasian Studies, to one or more deserving undergraduate or graduate students in the Institute of European, Russian, and Eurasian Studies whose academic program is directed to the study of the European Union, the post-communist countries of Central and Eastern Europe or the former Soviet Union. The bursary is open to all domestic and foreign students of the Institute. Endowed in 1985 by faculty, staff and friends of the Institute.