Awarded annually on the recommendation of the Department of Physics to an outstanding student in an Honours, Combined Honours, or Double Honours program in Physics at Carleton University. Donor: The Institute of Particle Physics. Established in 1984 in honour of the Institute’s founding President, E.P. (Ted) Hincks, D.Sc., F.R.S.C. The late Professor Hincks played a seminal role in the development of high-energy physics in Canada and was a Chair of the Department of Physics at Carleton University.