Awarded annually by the Dean of Graduate and Postdoctoral Affairs, on the recommendation of the Director of the School of Public Policy and Administration, to an outstanding student entering or proceeding in the Master in Philanthropy and Nonprofit Leadership. Establish in 2013 through the generosity of Mr. Donald K. Johnson.

Mr. Donald K. Johnson is a Member of the Advisory Board, BMO Capital Markets and a former Vice-Chairman, BMO Nesbitt Burns Inc. Mr. Johnson continues to serve in an advisory capacity to the firm following his 2004 retirement. He also serves on the Boards of a number of not-for-profit and for-profit organizations. He played a key role in convincing the federal government to eliminate the capital gains tax on gifts of listed securities in the 2006 budget and in the April 2015 budget, to eliminate the capital gains tax on gifts of private company shares and real estate.