Awarded annually on the recommendation of the Chair of the Department of Psychology, to a student entering the Fourth year of the Honours Psychology program who has demonstrated excellence in the area of Personality Psychology. Endowed in 1992, and revised in 2000, by David K. Bernhardt, a member of the Psychology Department from 1964 to 1996.