Malcolm Butler Award in Science

Malcolm Butler Award in Science

The Rundown

Dr. Malcolm Butler has been the Dean of Science and a professor in the Department of Physics at Carleton University since 2010. Dean Butler will be leaving Carleton at the end of June to hold the position of Vice-President, Academic and Research, at Saint Mary’s University in Halifax, N.S., commencing on July 1, 2017.

To recognize his contributions to Carleton University we would like to establish an annual scholarship in his name. Please help us celebrate his Carleton legacy by making your gift now.


The Background

To honour the contributions of Dean Malcolm Butler to the Faculty of Science and Carleton University we plan to create a term award for a student with scholarship standing with preference to a student who demonstrates leadership in science activities at Carleton.

The Faculty of Science has developed significantly under Dr. Butler’s leadership, with growing enrolments, increased research capacity and external funding, new programs and new facilities. In particular, Dr. Butler took on the task of developing the Bachelor of Health Sciences program, which was a complex, multi-disciplinary effort that resulted in a leading-edge program. With graduate programs currently under final review, and a new building under construction, Health Sciences will be a lasting legacy of Dr. Butler’s tenure as Dean of Science.

Dr. Butler has been particularly successful in establishing partnerships for research and community engagement, with initiatives like the Carleton Front Door making researchers accessible to the local community. During his renewal process, the feedback received from the Carleton community referred to him as an exceptional and exemplary leader, a mentor and a tireless advocate for the Faculty of Science and Carleton University.


The Rollout

We plan to raise $10,000 which will provide for a $2,000 award each year for 5 years.

The Benefits

As a testament to Dean Malcolm Butler’s legacy at Carleton, this award will support deserving students in the Faculty of Science who continue to embody his values of leadership, dedication and determination.