Awarded annually on the recommendation of the Chair of the Department of Chemistry to an outstanding student who has successfully completed the first-year chemistry course designed for engineers. Established in 2014 by the family of Dr. Alexis Bawagan to commemorate his long association with Carleton University as professor, researcher and active member of the Carleton University community.